Canada Infra Bank board unveiled

The Government of Canada has revealed the inaugural board of directors for its new infrastructure bank.

Ten appointees make up the board, which is led by Janice Fukakusa as chair. The appointees are:

  • Kimberly Baird (founder of Kim Baird Strategic Consulting)
  • Jane Bird (a senior business advisor with law firm Bennett Jones)
  • Dave Bronconnier (president and chief executive of Interloq Capital Inc. and former Mayor of Calgary)
  • James Cherry (former president and chief executive of Aéroports de Montréal)
  • Michèle Colpron (former senior vice president at the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec)
  • Bruno Guilmette (president of the Plan A Capital Advisory Committee)
  • Christopher Hickman (chairman and chief executive of Marco Group)
  • Poonam Puri (professor of business law at Osgoode Hall Law School)
  • Stephen Smith (co-founder, chair and chief executive of First National Financial)
  • Patricia Youzwa (former president and chief executive of SaskPower)

The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships (CCPPP) welcomed the announcement as “an important step that reinforces the historic commitment the federal government has made to infrastructure development”.

CCPPP chief executive Mark Romoff added: “This accomplished and experienced CIB board will help set a new course for the next infrastructure era in Canada. Drawing on the success of the P3 model, the Canadian Infrastructure Bank will be able to bring investors, developers and governments together to advance transformational infrastructure that may not otherwise come to market.”

Fukakusa told delegates at last week’s CCPPP annual conference that the bank would “complement existing models” and is open to working on unsolicited proposals from the private sector.