Wales appoints infra commissioners

The Welsh government has named the inaugural members of the new National Infrastructure Commission for Wales (NICW).

Economy and Transport Secretary Ken Skates (pictured) has announced the 12-member team, which met for the first time earlier this week to consider how to develop a better-informed programme of infrastructure investment for Wales.

“I’m delighted to appoint a group of commissioners with such expertise and experience,” said Skates. “I look forward to receiving their advice and am convinced they will make a major contribution to Wales’ well-being through improved infrastructure.”

Skates had already appointed John Lloyd Jones as the commission’s chair, and he has now been joined by 11 other commissioners.

The team includes Royal Academy of Engineering Network Rail Research Professor of Railway Engineering at Imperial College London, Roderick Smith; Newport City Homes chief executive Ceri Doyle; Professor of Digital Education & Policy at Swansea University, Tom Crick; and Interim Director Community Transport Association for Wales, former Liberal Democrat Assembly member Eluned Parrott.